Personal Update: 7/7/17

17861854_10212487526966722_4541336447381620848_nGreetings, friends!

It has been a long while. I owe you all an update on my personal status. 🙂

Two years ago today, I was homeless and stranded in Colorado. I asked for financial assistance from you – my readers – and I received an abundance. The kindness of strangers kept me alive for awhile there, and I am grateful. Thank you.

By Christmas of 2015, an old friend heard that I was living out of my car. He had a spare bedroom for me in Fort Wayne, Indiana, if I could make it that far. I did, and a year and a half later, I’m still here.

Once I was indoors, I applied for Medicaid. Then Gov. Mike Pence had just approved the Medicaid expansion funding that then Pres. Obama had made available via the ACA two years earlier. After years of trying, I was finally approved for health coverage!

I also applied for disability. The struggle continues on that front; I have a hearing in front of an administrative law judge scheduled for the end of August.

So what have I been doing these past nineteen months, you ask? I’ve been working with medical and psychiatric professionals to address my health problems, and trying very hard not to hate myself while the process plays out.

In the physical realm, my diagnosis’s now include fibromyalgia, cerebellar ataxia, and, on a genetic level, Asperger’s syndrome. On the psychiatric side, I’ve been diagnosed with major depression, a general anxiety disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and when I’m at my very worst, schizoid personality disorder with avoidant features (which basically means that when my symptoms are aggravated, I will do whatever it takes to avoid interacting with other people).

Getting better is not a straight-forward path, but I have been making progress slowly. Here’s hoping the progress continues! – Corey

Post Script: I have a lot of loyal readers, but I have to send a shout-out to Linda Wetta. Linda, you’ve been supporting Common Culture (and me) through thick and thin, and I want to say thank you. I smile whenever I see that you’ve reacted to a link that I’ve shared, and I appreciate your patience and seemingly endless support. Thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

